Guidance

Forms  Links  News

‚Äč
DeSoto High School Counseling Center

What is a professional school counselor?

The role of the DeSoto ISD counselors is to help all students at their local campuses fully develop their academic, career, personal, and social abilities. School counselors work with the school faculty and staff, students, parents, and the community to plan, implement, and evaluate developmental guidance and counseling programs for all students. (TEC. Section 33.005)

What are their qualifications?

DeSoto ISD counselors are state-certified professionals with a master’s degree in counseling that have a minimum of two years of classroom teaching experience. They must have passed a state mandated test and received certification from the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC). Counselors continue their professional development by attending workshops and conferences on an ongoing basis.

What does a school counselor do?

The school counselor’s job includes the following:
- Counsel individuals and small groups of students to meet identified needs. 
- Deliver the guidance curriculum and assist teachers with the school’s guidance curriculum. 
- Consult with parents, teachers, and other staff regarding concerns about student’s needs. 
- Coordinate people and resources in the community for the benefit of students. 
- Participate in planning, implementing and evaluating a comprehensive developmental guidance and counseling program to serve all students. 
- Know about and adhere to the ethical, legal, and professional standards of the counseling profession. 

How does a student contact the school counselor?

Students may come by or contact the counseling office anytime to make an appointment or speak with a counselor. Students may also be referred to a counselor by a teacher, administrator, staff member, parent, or peer. Counselors may also request to visit with a student based on observations or concern with a student’s behavior or actions.

 

Meet the Counseling Staff

Sharron Jackson
Lead Counselor
sharron.jackson@desotoisd.org

Cassandra Washington

Last Names A-K (9th grade)
cassandra.washington@desotoisd.org

Radiah Dewberry
Last Names L-Z (9th grade)
radiah.dewberry@desotoisd.org

Kiondria Wright
Last Names A-K (10th grade)
kiondria.wright@desotoisd.org

Tammee Sandle
Last Names L-Z (10th grade)
tammee.sandle@desotoisd.org

Karen Brown

Last Names A-D (11th - 12th grade)

karen.brown@desotoisd.org

Leah Cauley
Last Names E-K (11th - 12th grade)
leah.cauley@desotoisd.org

Tamica Cross
Last Names L-Q (11th - 12th grade)
tamica.hunt@desotoisd.org

Pamela Page Washington
Last Names R-Z (11th - 12th Grade)
pamela.page@desotoisd.org

Stacie Bailey
504/At Risk Counselor
stacie.bailey@desotoisd.org


Advanced Academics Counselors
Chevonda Davis Howard - IB Students
cdavis@desotoisd.org

Portia Smith - Early College/Collegiate Magnet (A - K)
psmith@desotoisd.org

Folade Burles - Early College/Collegiate Magnet (L-Z)
folade.burles@desotoisd.org